Home | News | La Trobe awarded chair in European studies

La Trobe awarded chair in European studies

La Trobe has become the third Australian university to be awarded the European Union’s prestigious Jean Monnet Chair for high-level education and research about Europe. The Chair, valued at around $90,000, will be held for three years by Dr Stefan Auer, senior lecturer in history and politics and director of La Trobe’s Innovative Universities European Union (IUEU) Centre. The two other Monnet chairs are at Monash and the University of Melbourne. Launched in 1989, the Jean Monnet program - named after the chief architect of what is now the EU - operates in 740 universities in 62 countries.

Please login below to view content or register for a 4 week FREE Trial.

Membership Login

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the top stories in our weekly newsletter Sign up now

To continue onto Campus Review, please select your institution.