Home | On Campus | On the Move | On the Move | December 2016

On the Move | December 2016

TDA chair steps down
After more than 11 years leading TAFE Directors Australia, chief executive Martin Riordan will be stepping down from the organisation’s helm in March 2017.
TDA chair Mary Faraone said Riordan had spoken to the board and outlined his decision to step aside and pursue further interests.
While leading TDA, Riordan received a Fulbright Professional Scholarship in 2010, a Prime Minister’s Postgraduate Asia Scholarship, and was elected to the board of the World Federation of Colleges and Polytechnics.
Faraone said the board would begin the process of recruiting Riordan’s successor shortly.
Johnston named UNSW dean of science
Award-winning research leader, scientist and communicator Emma Johnston has been appointed UNSW’s new dean of science.
Johnston is now pro vice-chancellor, research, at UNSW and will take up her new role in May 2017.
Johnston is a leading authority in marine ecology and her research has been recognised with numerous awards, including the 2014 Australian Academy of Science Nancy Millis Medal for Women in Science, the 2012 NSW Science and Engineering Award for Excellence in Biological Sciences, and the Hynes Award from the Canadian Rivers Institute (2016).
In 2012, Johnston was appointed the inaugural director of the Sydney Harbour Research Program at the Sydney Institute of Marine Science.
UTAS names northern expansion project head
The University of Tasmania has appointed James McKee director of its northern expansion project.
The undertaking is scheduled to deliver new inner-city university campuses in Launceston and Burnie, and a strengthened Australian Maritime College at the university’s existing Newnham location.
McKee arrives in the role from the Office of the Tasmanian Co-ordinator General, key partners in the design and delivery of the expansion. He has previously served in a range of roles involving agriculture, water infrastructure development and community development.
McKee commenced his new role in November.
Curtin academic to chair new UNESCO position
Curtin University professor David Gibson has been appointed the inaugural United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) chair for data science in higher-education teaching and learning.
Gibson, who is the university’s director of learning futures, Curtin Learning and Teaching, said he was honoured to accept the UNESCO position.
“I look forward to the challenge of improving the access and effectiveness of education for lifelong learning, globally,” Gibson said. “With Curtin’s support, we hope to unearth new knowledge and ideas in data science that help to transform higher-education learning and teaching.”
UTS’s First PVC, Indigenous leadership
Professor Michael McDaniel, who has a history of engagement within the Indigenous higher-education sector spanning almost three decades, has been appointed the inaugural pro vice-chancellor, Indigenous leadership and engagement, at UTS.
McDaniel is a professor in Indigenous education and director of Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning at UTS, and has previously been dean of Indigenous education and director of Badanami Centre for Indigenous Education at the University of Western Sydney, and head of Warawara Department of Indigenous Studies at Macquarie University.
McDaniel is a member of the Kalari Clan of the Wiradjuri Nation of central NSW.
FedUni appoints first exec dean of grad studies
Federation University has appointed professor Caroline Finch its inaugural executive dean of graduate studies.
Since 2013, Finch has held the position of Robert HT Smith emeritus professor at FedUni, where she also holds the position of director at the Australian Collaboration for Research into Injury in Sport and its Prevention (ACRISP) research centre.
This follows a long history of highly successful senior research management and leadership experience across several universities, including Monash University and the University of New South Wales, as well as FedUni. She has also held a National Health and Medical Research Council principal research fellowship continuously since 2004.


Please login below to view content or subscribe now.

Membership Login

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the top stories in our weekly newsletter Sign up now

To continue onto Campus Review, please select your institution.