Home | Futureproof2015 Presentations

Futureproof2015 Presentations

Thank you for attending Futureproof Now. We welcome any feedback to help us improve next year's conference - please email [email protected] 

Claire Madden | The Gen Z challenge: Demands and needs of the next wave of studentsClaire Madden is a social researcher and director of research at McCrindle Research. Claire has more than 10 years of experience developing innovative programs to engage emerging generations. She co-ordinates research for some of Australia's largest organisations, giving her an informed perspective on the social trends shaping Australia's future.
Andrew Norton | Futureproofing against government policy changeAndrew Norton is the higher education program director at the Grattan Institute. Andrew co-authored the government report on the demand-driven system. Andrew has also authored or co-authored many other publications on higher education, including: Mapping Australian Higher Education, the widely used reference on trends and policies; and Doubtful Debt: the rising cost of student loans.
Allyn Radford | What disruption really meansAllyn Radford is chief executive of DeakinDigital, a subsidiary of Deakin University focused on credentialing as an alternative to traditional higher education. Allyn is experienced in innovative business models and infrastructure. He has led projects in private enterprise and education in Australia, the United States, Mexico and South Korea.
Discussion | Areas Ripe for Change: The Future of Education
Paul Wappett is the chief executive of Open Universities Australia. He is a passionate believer in the power of education to transform individuals, families and communities and is motivated to see that as many people as possible have access to a world-class education through OUA.
Megan Lilly is the head of workforce development for The Australian Industry Group (Ai Group) and chief executive of the Australian Industry Group Training Services (AiGTS). Megan is chair of Manufacturing Skills Australia and a member of the Australia India Education Council, the Australia Pacific Technical College and the Australian College of Educators.
James Lawler is a medical student in his penultimate year of study at the University of Newcastle. On top of completing a research year as part of a Masters of Public Health, James is also the current 2015 national president of the Australian Medical Students' Association (AMSA).
Conor King is executive director of IRU, a network of six comprehensive universities conducting research of national and international standing and applying collective expert knowledge, capabilities and resources to enhance the outcomes of higher education.
Gil Davis | Apply business experience and skills to the world of higher educationGil Davis is a former leading real estate agent and author of Sell for More: Secrets that will Maximise the Sale of your Property. Gil now lectures in Ancient Greek history at Macquarie University, and has established the highly successful program for the Archaeology of Ancient Israel funded by community donations.

Discussion: Innovate to drive business change
Adrian Bennett is the director of education at JMC Academy. Adrian is an academic industrialist and futurist who says he brings change to the muggle world, like a sorting hat.
Attila Brungs is vice-chancellor and president of the University of Technology, Sydney. Attila is the university's chief executive officer and is responsible for the effective management of the university.
Petrina Fraccaro is general manager and vice-president of training organisation Charlton Brown. Petrina oversees the operations, sales and marketing, student recruitment, enrolments and administration teams.
International education: secure the future now
Phil Honeywood is chief executive of the International Education Association of Australia. Phil is a member of the federal government's TEQSA Advisory Council, and its committees for the New Colombo Plan and education visas.
Tim Renowden is head of market intelligence for Hobsons APAC. His team produces insights and analysis based on data and industry knowledge collected by Hobsons over more than 15 years in the Australian international education sector.
Nina Khairina is the national president of the Council of International Students Australia. Nina is also finishing her term as president of Monash University International Students Service at Monash Clayton Campus.
Policy debate | Chaired by Andrew Norton
Jeannie Rea is the national president of the National Tertiary Education Union. Jeannie was an academic at Victoria University, holding the position of deputy dean of arts, education and human development before being elected NTEU president in 2010.Adrian McComb is chief executive of the Council of Private Higher Education, which he played a major role in establishing in 1998. In 2003, he was instrumental in advocacy that led to FEE-HELP, giving non-public university students access to government loans for their fees for the first time.

Daniel Edwards is a principal research fellow and leads the Tertiary Education Research program at the Australian Council for Educational Research. Daniel's research encompasses a range of educational issues, with particular emphasis on higher education.

Jessie Borthwick is acting deputy secretary for Higher Education, Research and International at the Australian Government Department of Education and Training.


To continue onto Campus Review, please select your institution.